Home News Taliban names new Afghanistan Prime Minister: 5 things to know – and...

Taliban names new Afghanistan Prime Minister: 5 things to know – and what it means for UK



He heads the Rehbari Shura

Akhund does not lead the Taliban’s whole organisational structure, just its political wing.

The Rehbari Shura is a decision-making body that runs the group’s affairs under the direction of a cabinet.

Their decisions travel up the chain to the Taliban’s supreme leader, Hibatullah Akhundzada, for approval.

He is one figure in the Taliban’s cabinet

The Taliban caretaker government consists of several members, each holding a cabinet position.

Akhund has a deputy in Abdul Ghani Baradar, Taliban co-founder and Doha political office leader.

Baradar fled to Pakistan after the 2001 invasion and returned from prison in 2018 when Donald Trump’s Afghanistan envoy Zalmay Khalilzad requested he lead peace negotiations.

The remaining cabinet members include:

Sirajuddin Haqqani: Acting interior minister

Mohammad Yaqoob: Acting defence minister

Amir Khan Muttaqi: Acting foreign minister

Abas Stanikzai: Acting deputy foreign minister


Previous articleHair loss treatment: Three easy ways to use avocado oil to boost hair growth
Next articleLisa Rinna posts a smiley face to celebrate news her daughter Amelia Hamlin split with Scott Disick


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here